Nominated by the Member for Swansea Yasmin Catley for the Aboriginal Justice Award Dr Laurel Williams, a descendant of the Biripi people, was nominated for her passionate and lifelong commitment to justice for Aboriginal people.


Dr Williams was a co-commissioner of the National Inquiry into the Separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children, representing NSW, as well as the longest-serving life member of the NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative group, and is the former director of Wollotuka Institute for Aboriginal Studies at the University of Newcastle.


Lisa Ashby a Duty Advocate at the Central Coast Tenants’ Advice and Advocacy Service (CCTAAS) was nominated by Ms Catley for her outstanding work with home owners and tenants in residential communities. Lisa has developed CCTAAS support to include regular attendance at the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal to advocate on residents’ behalf.

About the Justice Awards:


The Justice Awards recognise individuals and groups who have made an outstanding contribution to improving access to justice, especially for socially and economically disadvantaged people in NSW.


About the Law and Justice Foundation of NSW:


The Law and Justice Foundation of NSW was founded in 1967 and improves access to justice for the community, especially socially and economically disadvantaged people. In 2017, the Foundation will celebrate its 50th anniversary.


More information on the nominees and the Justice Awards can be found here.


Quotes attributable to Shadow Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation Yasmin Catley:


“Both nominees have provided outstanding service to our community through their advocacy for vulnerable people in our society.

“It’s wonderful to know that we have such compassionate and hard-working people in our local community, people who go above and beyond to do what is right for vulnerable people.


“Well done to Laurel and Lisa, I know that everybody in the Swansea electorate will be proud of your achievements – well done!”